Microsoft Flight Simulator Gets Oceanic Islands and Antarctica in Latest Update

Check out details about the latest World Update for Microsoft Flight Simulator, which brings Oceanic islands and the Antarctic Peninsula to the game.

Microsoft has revealed details about the newest major update for Microsoft Flight Simulator. The update, titled World Update XIII, features some of the most exotic regions on the planet, focusing this time around on the Oceania region.

World Update XIII for Microsoft Flight Simulator features Polynesia (Hawaii and Easter Island), Melanesia (Fiji, New Caledonia, New Guinea, Indonesia’s West Papua, and the Solomon Islands), the Galapagos Islands, and the Antarctic Peninsula.

In its entirety, the update features 13 countries and 28 non-sovereign territories. The update will feature assets based on the latest aerial photographs, satellite imagery, and digital elevation modelling data. The update also features 150 points of interest throughout the regions, some of which include:

  • Four series of Moai monoliths on Easter Island
  • The Autograph Tower – the tallest building in Indonesia and the Southern Hemisphere
  • A series of Antarctic research bases including McMurdo Station, Scott Base, and Davis Station
  • The Point Venus Lighthouse on Tahiti

The update will also feature more than 12 hand-made airports, including:

  • A collection of highlands dirt airstrips in Papua New Guinea
  • Easter Island’s Mataveri International Airport (SCIP)
  • Hawaii’s Kona International Airport (PHKO)
  • Nusatupe Airport (AGGN) on the Solomon Islands
  • Bora Bora Airport (NTTB) in French Polynesia
  • Moorea Airpot (NTTM) in French Polynesia

And finally, it will will feature a host of new discovery flights, three new landing challenges, and three new bush trips.

World Update XIII: Oceania and Antarctica is out now for Microsoft Flight Simulator on PC, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X/S.